The Best Things about Church

July 10, 2011

First, I must apologize for the hiatus. I actually have a draft entry saved called “I gave up my religion blog for lent” but even that isn’t timely anymore. I blame the silence mostly on not having a personal computer and partially on moving. But I am now settled. And I still don’t have a computer. But, alas, I’m ready to get going again.

Though I wasn’t writing, I was out and about. Some highlights: a month-long yogathon (almost 24 hours of yoga in one month), learning to pray in the Islamic tradition, Ash Wednesday at the Washington National Cathedral, Easter Eve with the Anglicans, and several visits to Tikkun Leil Shabbat. These will have to be repeated, but at least I tried, right?

So now to the topic at hand – Church. I find that my peers tend to bristle when I drop this “c” word. My return to the blogosphere wasn’t intended for today, but – after I was happily woken at 8 am, bright-eyed and ready to take on the world – I couldn’t wait to go to church. I spoke to three friends prior to my departure and I was really shocked by the temperature drop when I said I was going to church. I was like “GUYS! I’m going to the UNITARIANS. It’s different!”

But is it? Yes, in some ways, Unitarians knock most perceptions of a faith community on their head. But in a lot of the important ways, it’s exactly the same. In a good way. I’d like to explore today the benefits of a faith community as illustrated by the dear DC Unitarians.

Also, I want to put out a disclaimer: I’m not revealing the names of where I go anymore. I don’t want to be perceived as a “worship critic” or as an advertisement.This is about my personal spiritual journey and nothing more.

OK – Church can serve many vital functions in society. I was once told by a couple that they became Unitarians because the only thing worse than telling their children there was no Santa would be telling their children there was no God. That seems a bit dour to me, but funny in a dark way. For me, growing up, church was a great place to socialize and be socialized, take leadership opportunities, meet amazing mentors, etc. It’s a great place for kids. They aren’t the only beneficiaries, though.

This morning I was greeted by a wonderful man named Mike. He was really happy to give me a tour of the beautiful facility. When I asked him what it meant to him, being Unitarian, he said “It’s more about being a good person.” Wow. Mike isn’t the only one. The congregation really takes that seriously, too.

Faith communities in general tend to provide ample opportunities to be a good person – both outside and in. This congregation has various active civil justice groups and a framed photo of the minister being arrested in an act of civil disobedience in the fellowship hall. It participates in the Washington Interfaith Network, and is even physically tracking congregants’ efforts to save water and better the environment.

But making the world a better place is only possible if the world’s people are intent on being their best selves. This holy place also offers support groups for family and friends of people with mental illness, hosts Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, offers a vibrant children’s ministry and numerous other groups, including the 20’s and 30’s group, which I’ll discuss a bit further later.

The message today actually focused on identity. As many of you know, what you DO tends to define who you are in DC. It’s often the first question someone will ask you when you meet them – sometimes even before they ask your name or shake your hand. It’s pretty disgusting. Anyhow… In her sermon, the minister noted that we are not our bodies. We are not our jobs or education. We are not our ideas. We are not our feelings. We are not our emotions. This is something we tend to emphasize in the yoga world as well. Somehow our beings transcend all of these physical things to make us greater than the world to which we are currently tied. When we detach ourselves from these constraints and limitations and connect to the greater oneness, we become better people. It’s nice to meditate on that. Give it a shot.

So needless to say, I left feeling lighter. Well – tried to leave. As I was making my way out the door, a church member noted that I look like I’m younger than 35 and should come to brunch with the young adults group. I told him I was 47. He said that I could disregard the invitation, then. Har har har.

So through Columbia Heights strode this caravan of 20-somethings gabbing about their former lives, their friend’s illness, politics, undergrad, the sermon, their jobs, etc. It was so comfortable. I could go on about how great it was to meet Kiswahili speakers and to find commonality with strangers over a delicious vegan lunch, but I’ve gone pretty long at this point. At the end, they asked me if I would come back.

The great reveal – I explained that I’m a religion blogger and will most likely be on the move. GASP! The enemy. Apparently people don’t like to be blogged about. This question shed light on what will most likely be my biggest conflict with this blog (aside from actually writing entries) – what do you do when you find a congregation you’d actually like to be a part of? Come back to it I suppose. But let me just say – I kind of want to be a Unitarian. For now, though, I’ve got to try the whole menu.

4 Responses to “The Best Things about Church”


  1. Great post! You’re the best looking 47-year old I’ve ever met.

  2. laiah Says:

    AP This is great!!! Congrats, and welcome back to the blogosphere!

  3. Cate Mart Says:

    This is wonderful Amanda! I hope you keep writing.

    In other news, I miss you!


  4. I’m so happy you had such a great worship and social experience and extremely proud that I’ve raised a child with such an open mind and willingness to explore all the different ways of encountering God in the world.


Leave a comment